Insomnia, you’re a jerk

She’s back. After a month of deep, hugging sleep, insomnia has returned and she’s a jealous jerk. She poked me on the shoulder, then in the neck, then behind my knees until I rolled to my back and swore at her.

She’s snickering now because she won. I’m up. The light is on. The snack is consumed. The laptop is overheating. All my favorite blogs and Tweets have been consumed and favorited. Email has been read. I’m so tired, yet I might not abandon her to sleep again this night.

Where will she be tomorrow, mid-afternoon, when I’m tired as a dog and trying to survive a long Friday afternoon at work? She’ll be snoozing under my covers. That jerk.

One thought on “Insomnia, you’re a jerk

What do you think of that?

