Such a geek?

I am a geek and I am creating more geeks. You’re welcome, world!

My students figured out a reaction mechanism for a Grignard attack on a cyclic ester in small groups today. That made me so happy. They are amazing. This chemistry is not simple. They can do it anyway.

They worked out multistep syntheses using the ~40 reactions and reagents they know so far. They don’t complain. They smile at me while I pile more impossible problems on them. It is incredible.

I do love my job.

 

What do you think of that?

