Oh, Christmas Tree!

I once knew a girl who made her own clothes. She built them. In the basement. With a blow torch. She was incredibly cooler than I will ever be.

Today I came close. I built a Christmas Tree from cake, an ice cream cone, marshmallows and some fairy dust. I followed the directions from here which said the whole process should take 2.5 hours.

It took me 4.5 hours.

As usual, I didn’t follow the directions precisely. (That may explain the fudge saga.) This time I got lucky and it all worked out. I used red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting.

The first step in making a Christmas tree is to allow entropy to engulf your life. I began in my messy kitchen that I never cleaned after baking cookies and the damn fudge yesterday.

DSCN4847

Red velvet cake batter looking good! Yes, oh yes, I did lick those beaters. They hardly tasted of garlic at all from the Italian dressing I’d just made.

DSCN4855

Into the oven went the 2-cup and 4-cup Pyrex measuring cups, well greased. Right on target.

DSCN4856

45 minutes later I took a peek. I don’t think it’s supposed to look like this.

DSCN4862

Fortunately, I own large knives. After shaving off the blobs, the pieces were more or less level. And I got to eat some extra cake.

DSCN4863

The assembly process began. Not looking too good, yet.

DSCN4866

The comment from my husband at this point was, “Wow, Laur. The things you do to entertain yourself.”

DSCN4867

I’ll show him. I think it’s looking better! (See Mr. and Mrs. Claus in the background? They approve.)

DSCN4868

Side note: your scissors will be very sticky from cutting marshmallows. I hope you’re finished wrapping! This step was designed by an engineering genius! Slice the marshmallows and coat with sugar. OMG. Delicious. Yes, I ate some. Yes, I licked my fingers. Yes, I washed my hands. One hundred times.

DSCN4869

And now, brace yourself for the most lovely accomplishment ever accomplished on the shortest day of the year, first day of winter, 80 degrees in South Carolina…dum da da dah!

DSCN4872

Yippee!

2 thoughts on “Oh, Christmas Tree!

What do you think of that?

