Think like me for a few minutes

When we were kids and racing through our first chapter books, newly addicted to reading, I wondered at my sister’s ability to read so fast. Her response, given without hesitation, was surprising. “When I read, I don’t look at the words.”

Huh.

It turned out, years later, when I was puzzling over her inability to spell, since she was such an awesome reader, both in speed and comprehension, that she confidently supplied the same excuse–she couldn’t spell because she simply didn’t need to–since she didn’t even bother to look at the words when she read.

Huh.

She’s my Irish twin so I expected we’d be more alike in our brain-wiring. I look at the words. So much so that I see the words in my head during conversation. An example: I learn the names of my millions (exaggeration, yes, but there is a constant influx of new faces and names in my line of work) of students each semester by picturing the letters in their names and matching them to their faces. For example, I have a student named Breanna, another named Bre, and another named Bri. I kept them straight the first week that I met them by picturing the differences in the actual letters of their same names. Kaleigh and Kailee and Kaley? Same method.

Huh, you say?

My self-analysis has prompted this post. Because I see the words, when they should rhyme, but don’t, the Earth’s axis feels a little off to me. I lose my brain balance.

Give it a whirl. Wear my shoes. Think like me for a few minutes. After reading my partial list of word pairs (below), see if you don’t agree with my anal brain that my Irish twin is better off, in her peaceful bubble with her don’t-see-the-words shield, than I am out here with the my inability to ignore should-rhyme-but-don’t word pairs.

SHOULD RHYME WORDS:

good food (yummy supper)

dumber number (lower IQ decimal)(listen for the b)

hoof poof (the dust behind the horse)

boot soot (wipe your feet)

cower lower (watch that tree branch or it’ll bop you in the head)

cash wash (money laundering)

lost post (mailman error, or WordPress glitch)

smooth tooth (what the tongue feels after a visit to the dentist)(listen for the subtle difference in -th)

tough dough (makes a crusty pizza)

limber climber (one would hope, or she will surely fall)

height and weight (ask at your next physical if the nurse could just rhyme them for you)

daughter laughter (filled my house for two decades, yet never rhymed)

Thanks for spending a few minutes with me in my brain, hearing and seeing the words simultaneously–the genesis of multitasking. I hope you enjoyed the tour.

One thought on “Think like me for a few minutes

What do you think of that?

