ow

I love Saturday mornings when I have ten minutes of quiet time to tap away on my laptop and tell the world (well all of you, but you’re my WordPress world) what my brain has been chewing on.

Since yesterday morning, my little brain has entertained itself (and me) by playing a game that it devised all by itself. The neurons have been snapping and compiling a list. While I drove to and from work yesterday, while I taught my classes, while I muddled through the grocery store grumpy and tired at the end of the day, even in the middle of the night my mind made me stay awake so she could agonize some more on this list.

So here you go. Join my game, people. Can you come up with more than 29 one-syllable* words that end in OW?

NOT 29 words that RHYME with OW. That is far fewer than 29.

One rule you may not break–you must use YOUR brain, not Google’s brain. (That’s cheating and might be one of the reasons my students can’t recall course material like they could ten years ago.)

Feel free to make your list in the comments below, but no peeking at other’s lists!

If you come up with more than 29, you beat me, I surrender and will seek your wisdom, Oh-great-word-searcher.

My follow-up question is  this: why the heck do some of the words rhyme with bow (a silky ribbon for a little girl’s hair) and others rhyme with bow (response to a curtsy)?**

And my follow-up follow-up: why is bow (bow) the only word on the list that can be pronounced both ways? (Feel free to correct me on this if you find another special word.)

And And my final follow-up-up: How did the English language end up like this and why do we put up with it?

*So, although MEOW cannot make the list, ask your cat: does it rhyme with bow or bow?

**My current list is split right down the middle. 14 rhyme with the bow and 15 rhyme with bow.

P. S. When I started typing, my list had 27 words and then 2 more jammed up my brain and demanded being added to my list. Hopefully, while you work on your list, I can have a nice, peaceful day of NOT thinking about this anymore. Right.

6 thoughts on “ow

  1. Question:
    Is ‘yow’ a word??

    Another question:
    Does row, a noisy quarrel, rhyme with bow, response to a curtsy?

    And another question:
    Are the two bows, and the possible two rows, counted twice?

    Linda

  2. The farm boy remembers – sow (a female pig) & sow (to plant seeds)

    I gave it two hours thought but couldn’t beat you only tie (unless I have a repeat). I had to double check the last one because I wasn’t sure if my memory was correct or not. Thanks for the diversion.

    throw
    brow
    bow
    Cow
    Pow
    how
    know
    now
    mow
    row
    tow
    vow
    wow
    grow
    crow
    show
    snow
    ow
    flow
    low
    Stow
    blow
    glow
    chow
    plow
    slow
    prow
    sow

    scow

What do you think of that?

