Ouch

You know that feeling when your skin touches hot metal? You pull away and think, ehhh, that wasn’t so bad. But then the deep heat kicks in, with the burning itch, and only ice will calm the screaming in your wrist. You know that feeling?

Last night when I made that delicious panini, I touched the rim of the steaming pan with my wrist during the flip. I hopped around the kitchen like a monkey, holding an ice-cube on the hottest spot. When it was so cold that it was numb, I took an ice break to eat said delicious panini. A thin layer of burn cream calmed me for the night. I went to sleep.

This morning, I was greeted by UGLY on the inner wrist. Blistery yuck. I am so squeamish, I can’t even look at it. It is actually uglier than it is painful.

My students, many future nurses, offered all kinds of advice. They even wanted to help me pop it. The idea almost made me faint. I wore my watch on the other wrist all day.

This is one of the main reasons I am not a “real” doctor.

What do you think of that?

