The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

My cousin Sue, who isn’t really my cousin, (or even my second cousin, or my cousin twice removed) is closer to my heart than any of my 20+ real cousins and has tagged me for a Blog Hop.

The purpose of this Hop is to shamelessly seek attention for my book. I think it is some ploy called ‘marketing’ – of which I know nil. But, I’ll give it a go.

If you’ve been following for a while, you know I’ve written some novels and have been rendered powerless to stop. I’ve answered the Hop questions below and encourage you to stop by and read Susie’s and Kathy’s responses as well.

Sue Dunham

Kathy Rhodes

What is the working title of your book? OR NOT TO BE

Where did the idea come from for the book? A trunkload of ‘what if’ questions, of course. Just like Stephen King told me.

What genre does your book come under? Contemporary fiction with slices of romance and science fiction. Has been called women’s fiction–but it isn’t a perfect fit.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Hmmm. This is difficult.

Anna might be played by Jodie Foster. Maybe. Sally Field would have been perfect fifteen years ago.

Meryl Streep could have pulled it off, too. Maybe she should play Anna’s mom.

Marisa Tomei might be perfect for Anna. Hmmm.

I haven’t actually thought this far ahead. Can you tell?

Who could play Eddie? He’d have to be incredibly hot, in a super intelligent way, yet old, in a has-been way. Who might that be? Any help, readers?

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? In a universe where time and space are limitless, where each person has one deathday per year, and where the deathday is a two-way portal, Anna finds herself suddenly on the dead side, facing the choice between death and life.

Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency? On the lookout for representation.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? Three months. (The second and third and fourth and so on took years and years.)

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? Comparables are tricky. This book is different. It has been compared to THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE in terms of a timeless love story and SHINE SHINE SHINE in terms of the unique relationship between the MCs. But it has other qualities that make it – just – different.

Who or what inspired you to write this book? My science mind posed these questions to me: Can you do this, girl? Can you sustain the writing and editing and critiquing that is the novel-writing process?

It was like a triple-dog-dare. I couldn’t back down from the challenge.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  Anna and Eddie are in love but they don’t use the L word. Their love is so solid it spans the space-time gap to the dead side where Anna must choose to remain dead or return to Eddie, though she’s sure he doesn’t want her back. See, even if you don’t say the L word, love is complicated.

One thought on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. so, even though you aren’t my cousin, i don’t care and i will always call you my cousin even though you’re even a bit more special than a cousin – it’s a connection, but i can’t call you “connection” so i’m calling you my cousin. that “connection” is linked to my heart as well.

    great job at the blog hop posting! your book sounds amazing and maybe some sci-fi which is really hot.

    wishing you all the best with it! i miss you… a bunch… give my cuz a hug and kiss for me.

    susie

What do you think of that?

