for the love of numbers

I am a chemistry geek. I love knowing what atoms and molecules make up everything. I love to understand and marvel at it all.

I am also a spelling and grammar freak. Typos and their ilk make me twitch.

But I also love me some numbers. I took extra math courses in college to learn non-Euclidian geometry and to study the Fibonacci numbers just because it was a fun way to stretch my brain out. Yeah. I’m a geek.

Try this one:

a + b is to a, as a is to b

Let b = 1              Find a

.

.

.

.

I left you some room to work. Did you get it yet? It’s just a bit o’ the old algebra. You can do it.

And when you do, that number is a lovely one. It is golden.

Look it up and see.

12 thoughts on “for the love of numbers

  1. Try this one:

    a + b is to a, as a is to b and b is a abe as abe is to z bebe’ born on z 12th of February, 204 years ago.

    Let b = 1 and let it b, let it b. Find Waldo

    .

    .
    love you geeky cuz!

  2. No. That does not help!
    But your clue did. And since the atomic weight of gold didn’t work (my layman’s attempt to think like a chemist) I googled to see if there was, in fact, a ‘golden number’
    🙂

  3. a squared = ab + (b squared)
    a squared – b squared = ab
    (a + b)(a – b) = ab
    a= the square root of (a+1)
    hmmmm…. so goldenly dlicious!

What do you think of that?

